Sign up for the
Crannog Newsletter
Email Us
+44(0)1887 830583
Contact Details




Opening 1st February 2019
from 10am to 4pm - 
Tours at 11am and 2pm

 We're looking forward to seeing you all again through 2019

The Crannog Centre will be closed for one day, on the 25th March for staff training

New Beginnings!

After more than twenty years, Barrie Andrian retired as Managing Director of the Scottish Crannog Centre on 31st December 2017.

Barrie has been succeeded by Mike Benson who took over with effect from 1st January 2018.

Barrie and her husband, Dr Nick Dixon together with many volunteers, built the iconic reconstructed Crannog Roundhouse as an archaeological experiment between 1994 and 1996.  The Crannog was then opened to the public in 1997 with just a portacabin and a tent.  Going from strength to strength and picking up many awards along the way, Barrie has led the team at the Centre from those humble beginnings into the internationally renowned destination it is today. 

After a truly memorable year which has seen the Centre celebrating 20 years of being open to the public; the successful signature 'The Celts are Coming!' anniversary event which featured the A-List of prehistoric experts and demonstrators; the Centre being awarded official Museum status by Museums Galleries Scotland and Dr Dixon being awarded the OBE in the Queen's summer honours list, Barrie deserves a well-earned rest.  We thank Barrie for her endless energy and drive which has brought the Centre to where it is today and wish her every happiness in retirement!  

Barrie has been succeeded as MD by Mike Benson.  Mike has arrived at Tayside from Teeside where he has enjoyed an impressive and varied career which has taken him from the Teeside Steel Industry into heritage where he held the posts of Managing Director ar Bede's World, an Anglo-Saxon Museum in Jarrow; Ryedale Folk Museum in the North York Moors National Park and The National Mining Museum for England in Wakefield.  


Please share...
and follow us!